Wellness Check – Know Your Numbers

Knowing key wellness numbers can be your first step towards prevention. By learning about what numbers and ranges you should be in and how you compare against “healthy” numbers, you can take actions towards maintaining or leading a healthy life. Some of the more well-known chronic conditions like heart attack, stroke, kidney disease, and diabetes can be prevented by keeping your numbers in healthy ranges. These numbers include your blood pressure, cholesterol, blood sugar, and body mass index (BMI). So, what are healthy numbers to strive for?

*Figures are provided by Zywave, Inc.

Total Cholesterol = 200 or less

  • HDL (good cholesterol) should be above 60
  • LDL (bad cholesterol) should be below 130
  • Total cholesterol should equal 200 or less

It is recommended to start having your cholesterol checked every five years, beginning at age 20. If an elevated level is detected, the cholesterol should be checked more frequently thereafter.

Blood Pressure = Less than 120 over 80

  • Hypertension, or high blood pressure, is a condition in which resting blood pressure is consistently measured at 140 over 90 or greater
  • Systolic pressure, the high number, indicates when the heart beats
  • Diastolic pressure, the lower number, indicates when the heart is at rest

It Is recommended to get your blood pressure checked at least once a year.

Blood Sugar = Below 100 (using FPG test)

  • Glucose is sugar that is stored in the blood as your main source of energy
  • Hyperglycemia- when glucose levels are too high you can develop diabetes
  • Hypoglycemia- when glucose levels are too low you can develop diabetes
  • Diabetes symptoms include: frequent urination, extreme hunger and thirst, unusual weight loss, increased fatigue, and blurry vision

It is recommended to get your blood sugar tested every 3 years, unless you have pre-diabetes, in which case it should be checked yearly.

Body Mass Index (BMI) = Between 18.5 and 24.9

  • BMI is regarded as the most useful tool to determine and classify obesity – it measures body fat
  • BMI under 18.5 – classified as underweight
  • BMI over 25 – classified as overweight
  • BMI over 30 – classified as obese